Growing in Faith

30 Nov

While thinking over all the books I’ve read, there have been a lot of books that have affected me. I have to admit I love Jodi Picoult books and they have been really fun to read but they haven’t changed my life. If I have to think of a book that impacted me so much that it changed my life I will have to say the book Authentic Beauty by Leslie Ludy.

Disclaimer: I am about to open up about my life a little so that you can truly understand why this book impacted me so much. So it is about to get personal. You’ve had your warning.

I went through a pretty hard time about three years ago. After my Mother suddenly passed away, I pushed far away from people and especially from God. I was a pretty angry teenager.  As a result, I fell into a bad crowd at school and did not make the last two years of high school something that I want to remember.

So why did I tell you this? Well without going into too much detail, I wanted you to basically know that I was not that good of a person three years ago. I made terrible choices, was mad at God and I hated my life.  Then one of my best friends gave me the book Authentic Beauty.

Authentic Beauty is written by a devout Christian, Leslie Ludy, who has a wonderful husband and loves God more than anything in her whole life. She also talks about her rough life before she truly found God.

I was able to really connect with her. She mainly has given me hope. She made some bad choices and had some not so great memories as well. Yet, God still loved her and now that she has come to Jesus, she is living an amazing life.

Well, if you are not a Christian then you may not be very interested in this post right now. But this book is so much more than a story of how she met God. It is a book that helps young women and men stay on track and what to expect from the world.  

Leslie Ludy talks about many different stages in life and how she could have made better choices. Also, one of the main things that she talks about is beauty and how it should be defined. From a girl who has struggled with self-image, and I’m sure every girl out there has at one point or another, this book helped me see that I am beautiful no matter what.

At first I was hesitant to read a Christian book but it has truly helped my everyday life and my relationship with God. This book helped me as I turned my life back around. Now, I am thankful everyday for all of my blessings and I am more driven than ever to peruse my dreams.  I know that God is going to be there with me for every step of my life and that He will make my dreams come true, if that is what He wants for me.

I am more confident and happy than ever! Of course I miss my Mom more than anything in the entire world but I am still happy with my life. I have a wonderful Father, a great step-mom, good education, food, a house, clothing and not to mention my talent and passion for the arts.

When something bad comes into our lives, God continues to show us how much love he has for us and gives us something good. It just depends on if we want to see it or not. After my Mom passed away I thought everything was going to go downhill, I thought the happy part of my life was over. However, now that I trust God with my life he has brought peace over my depressing thoughts. I know that I will be able to see her again someday and that my life still has happiness in it. I still have wonderful friends and family members that make me laugh and I have been continuing to do what I love. I know that she is looking down on me and smiling.  

Even though I read the book a couple months ago, I still keep it with me sometimes. I will put it in my purse, bag, or backpack once in a while. It may sound weird, but it is somewhat comforting for me to know it is there. I can then pull it out if I want to remind myself of something or if I want a little ‘pick-me-up.’

Not only did this book help change my outlook on life, it has led me to read other Christian books. When Borders was closing it was having huge sales on everything in the store. I went one of their last days and bought a couple Christian books. They are great reads and keep my mind focused on God and how much I love Him and He loves me. 

Since the Bible is a hard book to sit down and read through, these books help subsidies my lack of reading the Bible every day. I still read a little every once in a while and I am determined to get through, but it is nice to hear what good God has done for other people.

I am so happy Authentic Beauty was brought into my life by my best friend Morgan(pictured to the right), and we talk about it a lot which is so nice to be able to talk about God freely with my friend. If anyone is even a little bit intrigued to read it, please do! It is a wonderful book and will help you with more than you can imagine. There are sections about guys too! I hope you consider picking the book up somewhere or online.

Here is a link to the book and here is a link to Leslie Ludy’s website. You can find a lot of stuff about the book including reviews and more things about the fabulous author. Enjoy!

“Like a lily amoung the thorns, so is my darling among the maidens.” Song of Solomon 2:2.

Leave a Reply

